That Egg Is Mine!: A Silly Story about Sharing (Duck and Cluck) Hardcover – Picture Book, February 1, 2022 by Liz Goulet Dubois

> > > SKU: 9781728236827

Hardcover

[40 Pages]

PUB:January 04, 2022

$8.85

5 in stock

Compare

Description

Author: Goulet Dubois Liz

Format: Picture Book

Package Dimensions: 9x235x788

Number Of Pages: 40

Release Date: 01-02-2022

Details: Product Description
The first book in Duck & Cluck, a brand new funny graphic novel series for beginning readers―perfect for fans of Mo Willems and Elephant and Piggie.
Meet Duck and Cluck. They are friends. Mostly. But they do not always agree.
Duck has found an egg. Cluck thinks the egg belongs to her instead. And sharing? Out of the question!
This simple but hilarious read-aloud follows the two friends as they make their case for why the egg belongs to them. And in the end, they both learn important lessons about manners and sharing. That Egg is Mine is the perfect laugh-out-loud purchase for any kindergarten or first-grader learning to read, or for anyone searching for comic books for ages 6-8.
From School Library Journal
K-Gr 2-Duck finds a blue spotted egg. Cluck has lost an egg matching that exact description. They disagree on who owns the egg and both state their cases, until their argument culminates in a chase that causes the egg to fall and crack. The prehistoric hatchling reveals that the egg, in fact, belongs to a third party, neither duck nor chicken. The animal that hatches from the egg is not identified, but emerging readers will recognize a pterodactyl and may get a kick out of the silent P that begins the spelling of each of the baby’s “pquak” sounds. In the end, the rightful mother whisks away the baby. With the exception of a short flashback sequence in which Duck chases the tumbling egg through a few colorful and unexpected scenes, including a basketball court and a mini-golf course, most of the illustrations consist of pastel yellow and blue subjects on empty white backgrounds. Some pages employ frames and speech bubbles. Not addressed is the fact that both Duck and Cluck have the same claim to the egg: neither laid it, and both assume a self-centered finders-keepers-if-I’m-the-finder mentality. Though this series starter is perhaps not the most scintillating or original story, it’s amusing and well-suited for new readers. VERDICT Recommended for larger collections or those needing to fill out their early reader sections.-Rachel Owens, O’Neal Library, Birmingham, ALα(c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.
Review
“Readers should find the… dialogue… reminiscent of their own squabbles” ― Publishers Weekly

“A welcome addition to the early reader landscape that tickles the funny bone. ” ― Kirkus Reviews

Reviews (0)

0.0
0
0
0
0
0

Be the first to review “That Egg Is Mine!: A Silly Story about Sharing (Duck and Cluck) Hardcover – Picture Book, February 1, 2022 by Liz Goulet Dubois”

There are no reviews yet.

Close Bitnami banner
Bitnami