Follow Us!
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Linkedin Instagram

Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha, 1)

$12.99

Compare

Description

Amazon.com Review

Tomi Adeyemi’s debut novel is the start of what promises to be an epic, addictive new series. The Children of Blood and Bone is influenced by Adeyemi’s West African heritage, and in it she bends religious deities (the Orïsha) and a diverse landscape into a refreshing new take on fantasy. The Children of Blood and Bone is told from multiple points of view, as Inan and Amari, children of the iron-fisted king, and Zélie and Tzain, siblings who have suffered greatly under the king’s regime, find themselves on a dark, magic-filled quest for power. Their journey is accompanied by violence and betrayal, but friendship and even star-crossed love also play a part. Enriched with themes that resonate in today’s social and political landscape, The Children of Blood and Bone takes on injustice, discrimination, and a struggle for change. The action and danger ramp up with each chapter, and I found myself racing through the final pages, holding my breath right up to the cliffhanger ending. — Seira Wilson for the Amazon Book Review

Review

“A magnificent, heartrending, earthshaking debut.” ―New York Times-bestselling author Daniel José Older

“High stakes, a captivating fantasy landscape, and a brave heroine worth rooting for make Children of Blood and Bone unlike anything I’ve ever read.” ―Kami Garcia, #1 New York Times bestselling co-author of Beautiful Creatures and author of The Lovely Reckless

“Powerful, captivating, and raw―Adeyemi is a talent to watch. Exceptional.” ―Kirkus, Starred Review

“Adeyemi’s devastating debut is a brutal, beautiful tale of revolution, faith, and star-crossed love.” ―Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

“… Adeyemi keeps it fresh with an all-black cast of characters, a meaningful emphasis on fighting for justice, a complex heroine saving her own people, and a brand of magic made more powerful by the strength of heritage and ancestry. Perfect for fans of the expansive fantasy worlds of Leigh Bardugo, Daniel Jose´ Older, and Sabaa Tahir.” ―Booklist, Starred Review

“…A refreshing YA fantasy with an all–West African cast of characters that should be on every shelf.” ―School Library Journal, Starred Review

This is an exceptional debut from the author and will have a huge audience desperately waiting for more. Children of Blood and Bone is perfect for fans of Nnedi Okorafor, Nancy Farmer, and Angie Thomas.” ―VOYA, Starred Review

“Nigerian culture and geography… give this fantasy a distinct flavor, further distinguished by the intensity of emotion.” ―Horn Book

“Meet Tomi Adeyemi―the new J.K. Rowling. (Yep, she’s that good).” ―Entertainment Weekly

“Poses thought-provoking questions about race, class and authority that hold up a warning mirror to our sharply divided society.” –The New York Times

“A fast-paced, excellently crafted hero’s journey…populated with compelling and nuanced black characters.” –NPR

“A debut novel that is nearly impossible to put down.”–USA Today

“Adeyemi’s writing is beautiful and immersive.” –Tor.com

“A miraculous achievement.” –The Guardian

See all Editorial Reviews

Additional information

Publisher

Language

Author

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha, 1)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Close Bitnami banner
Bitnami